MARYSVILLE ANDERSON INSURANCE
Frequently asked questions about Personal Injury Protection Coverage
Q. What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)?
A. Personal Injury Protection is coverage that protects you, your family, and you passengers from loss due to injuries received in an automobile accident. The objective is to provide immediate payment to any person (or heirs) injured or killed as a result of an auto accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Q. What is included in PIP?
A. Briefly, Basic Washington Personal Injury Protection provides for: Medical Expenses - reasonable and necessary medical expenses incurred within three years from the date of the accident, to a maximum of $10,000 and funeral expenses up to $2,000.
Lost Wages - subject to a 14-day waiting period, an injured person will receive up to 85% of their gross income (maximum of $200 per week) for up to 52 weeks after the 14-day waiting period, to a maximum of $10,400.
Loss of Services - a qualified person will receive up to $40 a day (not to exceed $200 per week) for reasonable expenses incurred during recovery for essential services the injured person would have performed. Payment is subject to a maximum of 52 weeks and a total payment of $5,000. Such replacement services cannot be performed by persons who are members of the injured party's household.
Additional (or Expanded) Personal Injury Protection provide for:
Medical Expenses - reasonable and necessary medical expenses incurred within three years from the date of the accident, to a maximum of $35,000 and funeral expenses up to $2,000.
Lost Wages - subject to the 14-day waiting period, an injured person may receive up to 85% of their gross income (maximum of $700 per week) for up to 52 weeks to a maximum of $36,400.
Loss of Services - an injured person will receive up to $40 per day for a maximum of 52 weeks for reasonable expenses incurred during a period of recovery to pay for services the injured person would have performed, provided the services are not rendered by persons who are part of the same household.
Q. Who is eligible for these payments?
A. You or any family member injured while occupying a motor vehicle, you or a family member as a pedestrian or bicyclist who is struck by a motor vehicle, any passenger in your insured vehicle(s) or any pedestrian or bicyclist struck by your insured vehicle(s), regardless of who is at fault.
Q. What should I do if I want to add PIP to my policy?
A. If you would like to purchase the $10,000 limit of PIP, do nothing. In accordance with the new law passed by the 1993 Washington legislature, your policy will automatically be renewed with this limit.
Q. What should I do if I want to reject PIP coverage?
A. Given the importance of this coverage in the event of an accident, we ask you to discuss the coverage with your agent prior to rejecting it altogether. Your agent will have the necessary form for you to sign.
Q. What law has made this notice and selection of coverage necessary?
A. House Bill 1508, which amended RCW 48.22.085.
Q. What should I do if I have any questions about this form, about PIP, or about any of the other coverage's on my policy?
A. Your Independent Insurance Agent will be glad to assist you with these matters.
For complete details of coverage's, conditions, limits and losses not covered, be sure to read the policy, including all endorsements. If you have questions or need additional explanation, please contact your agent.